We are very fortunate to enjoy the unique and historic site which is home to Hoe Bridge School. The 22 acre estate with its fields, meadow, woods, river and pond, is a hidden gem lying in the heart of Surrey.
The site itself is steeped in history. Hoe Place – a former mansion which is home to the Hoe Bridge Prep department – dates from 1680 and was a favourite retreat of Lady Castlemaine, a mistress of King Charles II often referred to as ‘the uncrowned queen’.
The Chapel, which houses teaching and music rooms, dates back to 1850. There is an original icehouse in the gardens – a fascinating early form of refrigeration for food and drinks. The mansion remained a private residence until the 1920s, when Hoe Place Preparatory School was established in 1928 and in turn, became St. Michael’s School in 1964.
Hoe Bridge School itself was formed in 1986 when St Michael's School merged with Allen House Preparatory School which had been founded at Box Grove near Guildford, then on part of the present Royal Grammar School site and finally at Hook Heath in Woking in 1912.